Thank You, Unseasonable Weather

My friends say you are bad news.  They say you will be nothing but trouble for me in the long run.

My friends call you hard names like Global Warming.

They cite scripture and meteorological computer modelling and predict a variety of apocalypses.

But I can’t keep my heart from rising when you shine your warm sunlight like a blessing on my head.

Thank you for holding on to the brilliant leaves as fiercely fondly as I always want to.  Thank you for dancing their warm colors before my eyes for two months longer than you should.

Thank you for the extra days of digging in the garden that you give me.  And the sense of spring you bring to bear on my present autumn.

Talk to me . . .

